Organisation & Contact

4E Organisation

4E is a Technology Collaboration Programme within the IEA Framework for International Energy Technology Co-operation.

Executive Committee

The 4E Executive Committee (ExCo) is responsible for managing and leading the work of the Implementing Agreements, organising meetings and workshops, participating in international co-operation, collecting information and disseminating knowledge, best practice and innovative policies regarding energy efficient end-use technology.

The Executive Committee elects a chair and one or more vice chairs for a period of two years. The chair and vice chairs can be re-elected. Each contracting party (member country) appoints representatives that participate in ExCo meetings. The ExCo appoints an Operating Agent to provide secretariat services and other functions on behalf of the ExCo.

Further information on the operation of 4E is provided in the Frequently Asked Questions leaflet downloadable from this page.

ExCo Chair

Jamie Hulan

Office of Energy Efficiency
Natural Resources Canada

p. +1 613 996 4359

ExCo Vice-Chairs

Hans-Paul Siderius

Netherlands Enterprise Agency
p. +31 88 602 2609

John Cymbalsky

US Department of Energy
p. +1 202 287 1692

Brian Fitzgerland

Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority (EECA)
New Zealand
p. +64 4 470 2541


4E Operating Agent

Mark Ellis

Mark Ellis & Associates
44 Albert St,
Wagstaffe, NSW 2257

p. +61 2 4360 2931
p. +61 424 264 014 (mobile)

IEA Secretariat

Kevin Lane

International Energy Agency
Energy Technology Collaboration Division
31-35, rue de la Fédération
75739 CEDEX 15

p. +33 (0) 1 4057 6589


Melissa Cotterill
Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water

Adriana Diaz
Ecodesign company GmbH, on behalf of the Federal Ministry of Climate, Environment, Energy, Mobility, Innovation and Technology (BMK).

Jamie Hulan
Natural Resources Canada

Lin Ling
China National Institute of Standardization

Thore Stenfeldt
Danish Energy Agency

Niels Ladefoged
Directorate-General for Energy
European Commission

Georges Zissis
Universite Toulouse III/LAPLACE

Mitsuru Hara
New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization

Sung-Bok Kim
Korea Energy Agency

Hans-Paul Siderius
Netherlands Enterprise Agency
The Netherlands

Brian Fitzgerald
Energy Efficiency and Conservation Authority
New Zealand

Peter Bennich
Swedish Energy Agency

Michael Moser
Swiss Federal Office of Energy

Tara Deshpande
Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy
United Kingdom

Jeremy Dommu
Department of Energy
United States of America

4E Annexes & Projects

Contact information for the 4E Annexes.

Electric Motor Systems

Operating Agent
Maarten van Werkhoven
TPA Advisors
Generaal Winkelmanlaan 31 2111 WV Aerdenhout
The Netherlands

Tel: +31 23 5368090 Email:

Annex Chair
Roland Brüniger
Swiss Federal Office of Energie c/o R. Brüniger AG, Engineering & Consulting
Zwillikerstr. 8, CH-8913 Ottenbach, Switzerland

Tel: +41 44 760 00 66 Email:

See Electric Motor Systems Annex site

Solid State Lighting

Operating Agent
Nils Borg
Borg & Co AB
Sveavagen 98, 4 tr
113 50 Stockholm, Sweden

Tel: + 46 8 673 11 30 Email:

Annex Chair
Prof. Georges Zissis
Head of Light & Matter Research Group
Director of SH2D Research Federation
Universite Toulouse III/LAPLACE

Tel: +33 (0)5 61 55 69 96 Email:

See Solid State Lighting Annex site

Electronic Devices & Networks

Operating Agent
Steven Beletich
Beletich Associates
PO Box 56
Northbridge, NSW 2063, Australia

Tel: + 61 438 660 122 (mobile)  Email:

Annex Chair

Jeremy Dommu
Electronic Products Manager
Building Technologies Office, US Department of Energy
Tel. +1 202 586 9870 Email: 

See Electronic Devices and Networks Annex site

Power Electronic Conversion Technology

Operating Agent
Markus Makoschitz
Giefinggasse 2
1210 Vienna, Austria

Tel: + 43 50550-6317 Email:

Annex Chair
Roland Brüniger
Swiss Federal Office of Energie c/o R. Brüniger AG, Engineering & Consulting
Zwillikerstr. 8, CH-8913 Ottenbach, Switzerland

Tel: +41 44 760 00 66 Email:

See Power Electronic Conversion Technology Annex site