IEC 1906 Award

The International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC) was founded in 1906, with seat in Geneva. IEC has today 18’000 experts in 180 Technical Committees (TC). The “IEC 1906 Award” was created in 2004 by the IEC Executive Committee (ExCo) and commemorates and honours the IEC experts around the world whose work is fundamental to the IEC.

The “IEC 1906 Award” is given annually since 2004. Candidates are nominated by TCs (max 6 each), chosen by IEC’s ExCo. In 2017, 175 experts from 56 Technical Working Groups were awarded. Thereof three experts from Switzerland:

  • Béat Bertschi, TC38 Instrument transformers (Pfiffner Group)
  • Conrad U. Brunner, TC2 Rotating machinery (Impact Energy)
  • Markus Nyffeler TC77 Electromagnetic compatibility (Armasuisse Spiez)

In addition to Conrad U. Brunner, two other experts in the field of electric motor driven systems have been distinguished:

  • Tim Schumann TC22 Power electronic systems and equipment (USA)
  • Bernd Ponick TC2 Rotating machinery (Germany)

More about the IEC 1906 Award: