IEA 4E Electric Motor Systems Electronic Devices & Networks Mapping & Benchmarking Power Conversion Solid State Lighting

IEA 4E and the
Energy Technology Network

The IEA was established as an autonomous agency in November 1974. Its mandate is two-fold: to promote energy security amongst its member countries through collective response to physical disruptions in oil supply; and to advise member countries on sound energy policy.

The IEA carries out a comprehensive programme of energy co-operation among 28 advanced economies, each of which is obliged to hold oil stocks equivalent to 90 days of its net imports.

Today, the IEA’s four main areas of focus are:

  • Energy security: Promoting diversity, efficiency and flexibility within all energy sectors
  • Economic development: Ensuring the stable supply of energy to IEA member countries and promoting free markets to foster economic growth and eliminate energy poverty
  • Environmental awareness: Enhancing international knowledge of options for tackling climate change
  • Engagement worldwide: Working closely with non-member countries, especially major producers and consumers, to find solutions to shared energy and environmental concerns 

With a staff of around 260, mainly energy analysts, modellers and data managers/statisticians from its 28 member countries, the IEA conducts a broad programme of energy research, data compilation, publications and public dissemination of the latest energy policy analysis and recommendations on good practices.

IEA technology collaboration programmes (TCP)

To support the IEA’s core issues, the IEA created a legal contract, and a system of standard rules and regulations that would allow interested member and non-member governments to pool resources and research the development and deployment of particular technologies.

This IEA technology collaboration programme is open to IEA member and non-member countries.

Typically, participants are:

  • Governmental or energy technology entities representing governments
  • Research institutes and universities
  • Energy technology companies

For more than 30 years, technology collaboration has been a fundamental building block among IEA member and non-member countries in facilitating the progress of new or improved energy technologies. Currently, there are 40 collaborative projects, with several thousand participants from 72 countries, organisations or companies working in the areas of cross-cutting activities, end-use (buildings, electricity, industry, transport), fossil fuels, fusion power and renewable energies.

Each TCP has a unique scope and range of activities, although the work typically includes technology and policy assessments, research projects, information exchange and the dissemination of results and experiences.

International energy technology collaboration provides many advantages to participants, including:

  • Reduced cost and avoidance of duplication of work
  • Greater project scale
  • Information sharing and networking
  • Linking IEA member countries and non-member countries
  • Linking research, industry and policy
  • Accelerated development and deployment
  • Harmonized technical standards
  • Strengthened national research, development and demonstration (RD&D) capabilities

International Energy Agency